For good. For ever.®

Smyth Education Awards

Established in 1998 by Mr. and Mrs. H. Gordon Smyth, the Smyth Education Awards recognize and reward outstanding staff performance in the public schools of Nelson County, Virginia. During the academic year opening ceremony on August 1st, we recognized ten Smyth Education Award recipients for their exemplary efforts and presented them with a plaque and individual cash awards of $1,000.

Individuals wishing to nominate someone for a Smyth Education Award should contact the Nelson County Public Schools.

2018 Smyth Education Award Recipients

  • Tom Beverly, Custodian, Nelson County High School
  • Ashley Bryant, Counselor, Tye River Elementary School
  • Darius Byrd, Instructional Assistant, Nelson Middle School
  • Lauren Dingman, Fifth Grade Teacher, Tye River Elementary School
  • Jeannie Drumheller, Bus Driver, Rockfish River Elementary School
  • Eric Hathaway, Third Grade Teacher, Rockfish River Elementary School
  • Amy Howard, Special Education and Reading Resource Teacher, Nelson County High School
  • David Johnson, Custodian, Rockfish River Elementary School
  • Stephanie Mayo, Business Teacher, Nelson Middle School
  • Dee Mitchelson-Shaver, Special Education Teacher, Nelson County High School